10th Annual RCP Tiburon Mile Open Water Swim 2009

13 September 2009 -Tiburon California

Founded by Robert C. Placak in 1999, particpants swam one nautical mile from San Francisco Bay’s Angel Island to the shores of Downtown Tiburon in one of the Elite, Age Group and Wet Suit divisions, all vying for cash and prizes. Olympic and World Champion swimmers from the USA, Russia, Australia, South Africa, Brazil, Mexico and Germany as well as national and local pool, open water and collegiate swimmers took part in the event which has raised more than $800,000 for designated charities over the years.

The two elite champions for 2009 were Melissa Gorman (Australia) and Kane Radford (New Zealand)

Click to view race results for elite / age group / team and mayors cup.

Finish Line, Women’s Finalists (1:09, flashplayer required)

Finish Line Top 3 Men (1:20, flashplayer required)