Seahorse Swim 2012 a great success

Seahorse Swim 2012 start
Seahorse Swim 2012 start
East Dorset Open Water Swimming Club held its third annual Seahorse Swim race at Knoll Beach, Studland on 24 June 2012. The event was a great triumph for the club with over 130 swimmers from all over the country taking part. Held by kind permission of the National Trust, the swim was over a standard triathlon distance of 3.8km and produced a highly competitive race

Despite heavy overnight rain and high winds, the weather relented in time for the start. The swimmers were delighted with the friendly rivalry in this well organised event held in good conditions.

Bob Holman, chairman of the club said “We have had a fantastic day and all our swimmers have been complimenting us on providing a great swim”. The club was greatly assisted for the safety cover by RLSS Poole Lifeguard, Branksome Surf Life Saving Club, Bournemouth Lifeguard Corps, RLSS Boscombe Lifeguards, Southbourne Surf Life Saving Club and Christchurch Life Saving Club.

The club will be able to make generous donations to these organisations, the National Trust, St. John’s Ambulance and the Seahorse Trust.

Winners of the open categories were each presented with a magnificent original water colour of a seahorse. The first local male and female non-wetsuit swimmers aged over 40 were each presented with the Roy Harding Trophy.

Men’s Open wetsuit: Guy Giles (Wantage White Horses) 00:47:47
Ladies Open wetsuit: Naomi Vides (Poole Swimming Club) 00:54:40
Men’s Open non-wetsuit: Steven Hurley (Exeter City Swimming Club) 00:55:31
Ladies Open non-wetsuit: Joanne Ball (East Dorset Open Water Swimming Club) 01:04:26
Roy Harding Trophy
Stuart Purcell (East Dorset Open Water Swimming Club) 00:55:38
Kate Mason (Weyport Masters) 01:10:33

Click to view results

Click to view video from the event in our Gallery