Seahorse Swim 2013 Results

We were delighted to welcome BLDSA President Vince Classen to our fourth Seahorse Swim from Knoll Beach, Studland on 23 June 2013. The weather leading up to the event led us to revise our course to 3km to ensure competitors could enjoy a safe swim, albeit cooler than usual for the time of year. 165 completed the course.

[L-R] Bob Holman, Gerry Griffin and Vince Classen
[L-R] Bob Holman, Gerry Griffin and Vince Classen

We are very grateful to RLSS Poole Lifeguards and local clubs for providing safety cover for our event, and to the National Trust for letting us hold our event in such a stunning location. Studland is home to the largest breeding colony of seahorses in the UK and we presented cheques to the Seahorse Trust which works to protect their environment, RLSS Poole Lifeguards and the National Trust.

We could not hold such an event without the considerable support of a large team of volunteers, and our thanks go to everyone who helped before, during and after the event.

Seahorse Swim 2013
Seahorse Swim 2013

We were delighted to present Seahorse prints to the following competitors:

Male wetsuit and overall winner: Guy Giles
Male Non-Wetsuit: Christopher Hopton
Female Wetsuit: Naomi Vides
Female Non-Wetsuit: Lauren Pascoe

and the Roy Harding Trophy for the fastest local male and female non-wetsuit swimmers aged 40 or over: Rory Fitzgerald and Kate Mason.

Gift vouchers for our senior male and female competitors completing the race were kindly provided by David Lloyd to: Harold Chadwick and Ellery McGowan.

Download Press Release.

View Gallery Seahorse Swim 2013 Set 1

View videos from the event appear below as published. General – video 1 up; Start – video 16 up; Finishes from video 20 up; Presentations from video 65.

Results follow (category placings for Male Non and Female Non-wetsuit amended 24 June from overall 82nd).

Key DNF: Did not finish; DNS: Did not start.

[table id=52 /]