Seahorse Swim 2016 Results

East Dorset Open Water Swimming Club held its seventh annual Seahorse Swim on Sunday 3 July 2016 attracting swimmers from all over the country. The swim from Knoll Beach, Studland was held by kind permission of the National Trust and in support of the Seahorse Trust and was blessed with good weather.

View photos in our Seahorse Swim 2016 Gallery taken by professional photographer Josh Nisbet. These and more high resolution images – pre-race, starts, finishes and presentations – will be available for sale from!events/zykjf.

Congratulations to Guy Giles who was again first 3.8km swimmer back, winning the wetsuit category. EDOWSC members Emily Clarke and Clare Jevons also won their respective 3.8km non-wetsuit and 2km wetsuit categories.

Thanks for a brilliantly organised event today. I had a blast. Here's a little video I made on my iPhone. Sorry – there's no swimming action on camera because I was in sea.

Posted by Hayley Barnard on Sunday, 3 July 2016

Club Chairman Chris Parkin thanked RLSS Poole and associated lifesaving clubs for first class safety cover and to Kitbrix for 16 superb accessory prizes designed for triathletes and open water swimmers. The Swim has again raised funds for the Seahorse Trust, National Trust, RLSS Poole Lifeguards and neighbouring clubs as well as acting as a catalyst for swimmers to achieve their personal fundraising goals.

Chris thanked the event committee which had worked extremely hard in the months preceding the swim and the fantastic group of volunteers who gave up their time on the day to carry out important roles to make this year’s event another success.

We welcome feedback and have already received a number of positive and enthusiastic comments from swimmers and via social media.

The club continues its season of sea swims from its Shore Road base, 6 for 6.30pm every Tuesday and Sunday throughout the summer.

Seahorse Swim 2016 Results

Gents wetsuit 3.8kms:
1 Guy Giles 46.58
2 Luke Elam
3 Christopher Hopton

Ladies wetsuit 3.8kms:
1 Verity Westgate 1:05:07
2 Ruth Lowe
3 Catherine Atkinson

Gents non-wetsuit 3.8kms:
1 Steven Hurley 53:29
2 Rory Fitzgerald
3 Paul Bates

Ladies non-wetsuit 3.8kms:
1 Emily Clarke 53.12
2 Claire Thorn
3 Emma Baird

Gents Wetsuit 2kms:
1 Nigel Thomas 33.50
2 Michael Bradford
3 Robert Kathro

Ladies wetsuit 2kms:
1 Clare Jevons 33.38
2 Sarah Fenton
3 Louise Kathro

Gents non-wetsuit 2kms:
1 Richard Parker 33.13
2 Alfie Cunnington
3 Jim Garnett

Ladies non-wetsuit 2kms:
1 Jennifer Glaysher 38:02
2 Helen Needham
3 Jane Huntley

Roy Harding Memorial Trophy for first local male non-wetsuit over 40:
Rory Fitzgerald 56.38

Roy Harding Memorial Trophy for first local lady non-wetsuit over 40:
Tasha Morey 1:00:11

Oldest gentleman to complete the 3.8kms course:
Bob Holman

Oldest lady to complete the 3.8km course:
Ellery McGowan

We updated the category places to correct a very late change. View results

We look forward to seeing everyone again at future club events.