Shortlists announced for the 2012 H2Open Awards

Congratulations to all nominees as well as those shortlisted for the 2012 H2Open Awards, which celebrate achievement in open water swimming.

The winners will be announced at the H2Open Day on 28 April. The shortlists are revealed below.

The judging panel comprised:

  • Cassandra Patten, Bronze medallist, 2008 Beijing Olympics Marathon Swim
  • Duncan Goodhew, Olympic Gold medallist and swimming ambassador
  • Steven Munatones, former 25km open water swimming world champion and founder of open water source
  • Kate Rew, founder, Outdoor Swimming Society
  • Nick Adams, President, Channel Swimming and Piloting Federation
  • Colin Hill, Marathon Swimming Technical Manager for the London 2012 Olympics


Charity Swim of the Year

  • 2swim4life
  • Channelling Positivity
  • David Walliams
  • Roger Allsopp

International Swim of the Year

  • 2011 European Open Water Swimming Junior Championships at Navia
  • Lorne Pier to Pub Swim
  • Rottnest Channel Swim
  • The Hellespont

Best UK Event

  • BLDSA 2-Way Windermere
  • Bridge to Bridge (Henley to Marlow, River Thames)
  • British Gas Great British Swim Series
  • Dart 10km

Coach of the Year

  • Bernd Berkhahn
  • Dan Bullock
  • Kari Furre
  • Paul Newsome

Innovation of the Year

  • AquaPulse Waterproof Heart Rate Monitor from Finis
  • Queenford Lake Relays
  • Swimovate Poolmate
  • Zoggs Predator Flex – Polarized

Inspirational Swim of the Year

  • David Walliams, Thames swimmer
  • Diana Nyad, Cuba to Florida attempt
  • Roger Allsopp – oldest ever Channel swimmer
  • Windermere 12-way Warriors

Open Water Ambassador of the Year

  • Colin Hill
  • Kate Rew
  • Steven Munatones
  • Thomas Noblett

Open Water Swimmer of the Year

  • Forrest Nelson
  • Oliver (Ollie) Wilkinson
  • Roger Allsopp
  • Stephen Redmond

Click to visit and subscribe.