The Seahorse Challenge Swim 2010

East Dorset Open Water Swimming Club has held its inaugural Seahorse Challenge open water swim race in the beautiful Studland Bay on 27 June 2010. The race had been eight months in the planning and attracted a high class field of competitors from all over Southern England and the Midlands.

Seahorse Swim 2010
Seahorse Swim 2010
The event was held by kind permission of the National Trust and run in support of the National Trust and the The Studland Seagrass and Seahorse Study Group. Studland is the only coastal area in Britain where there is a known colony of breeding seahorses which makes it a very special place.

Club President Ali Budynkiewicz said “We had perfect conditions on the day, warm balmy weather and a nice flat calm sea. It really couldn’t have been better!” She said that the race had been a fantastic success and the organising committee had been greatly supported by the RLSS Poole and Branksome Lifeguards who provided the safety cover on the day. The club had been able to make a substantial donation to the lifeguards for the purchase of a number of swim buoys used for the Seahorse race.

The swim was over a standard triathlon distance of 3.8km. Starting from Knoll Beach, it took a triangular course heading towards the Training Bank, back towards the beach and then parallel to it back to the start / finish line.

The 93 swimmers who took part were very complimentary about the swim and the organisation behind it and were determined to return next year. The winner of each category was given a magnificent print of a painting of a seahorse by popular local artist Donna Stacey.

Also, the first male and female local non-wetsuit swimmers over the age of 40 were presented with the Roy Harding Memorial trophies. This special award was to honour the memory of Roy, a member and great supporter of the club who sadly passed away last year.

The oldest lady swimmer in the race, Jenny Ball from the Isle of Wight, was presented with a special Lush gift pack.

Guy Giles
Guy Giles
Danielle Pryor
Danielle Pryor
Seahorse Swim 2010
Seahorse Swim 2010

Seahorse Swim 2010 images credit Danni Callahan

Male non wetsuit (MNW)
Male wetsuit (MW)
Female non wetsuit (FNW)
Female wetsuit (FW)


[table id=”9″ /]


[table id=10 /]

Did not Finish (DNF) and Did not Swim (DNS)

[table id=11 /]

Comments are closed.